Skip Navigation Links

Black Partridge NSDAR Recognize JAC Winners

Wednesday, June 14, 2017 - Posted 5:25:30 PM by Carl Bond
The Black Partridge Chapter of the National Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution held their recent meeting to honor a deceased member Betty Wettstein, to recognize the JAC winners, and to inform members of the recent District I meeting. Junior American Citizens (JAC) sponsor a contest each year in which students K-12 can participate. Each year having a different theme; this year's theme was "Our National Parks: 100 years of Service to America." Our young people from across the nation made posters, stamp designs, photo essays, banners, wrote poems and short stories, and some groups did community service projects.

Karen Ghighi, Rachel Cooley, Kimberly Cooley, Angela Bullard, Sierra Bullard, and Nancy Bullard

We had 36 JAC Groups sponsored by the Illinois chapters. 995 children participated in the contests. Illinois had 63 state first place state winners this year. Each was presented with a certificate and a JAC pin. Illinois winners were sent on to the North Central Division which includes IL, IA, MN, NE, ND, SD, and WI. Illinois had 53 North Central Division first place winners and each student was presented with a certificate. These first place winners were then sent on to National. Illinois had 43 National winners which included 9 Honorable Mentions, 9 thirds, 5 seconds, and 20 firsts. The National winners were presented with medallions and certificates. Sierra Bullard, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Jim Bullard, of Washington, IL entered a poster. Rachel Cooley, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Fred Cooley, of Washington, IL also entered a poster. They both received a first place in the state at their age division. They also ranked first place at the North Central Division for their age group. Rachel received a 2nd place at the National Level. We are so proud of these girls . Their grandmothers, Nancy Bullard and Karen Ghighi, are members of the Black Partridge DAR Chapter. Kenda Bond, State JAC Chairman, presented the awards to the girls.