Skip Navigation Links

Fieldcrest Board Meeting Summary

Thursday, April 13, 2017 - Posted 8:54:53 AM by Dr. Dan Oakley
The Fieldcrest CUSD 6 Board of Education held a Board planning meeting on April 12, 2017. Members present were: continuing Board members Scott Hillenburg, Joe Kirkpatrick, and Tim McNamara; outgoing Board members Tom Barth, Tammi Coons, Greg Kroeschen, and Danielle Reichman; and incoming Board members Mykin Bernardi, Charles Lohr, Kimberly McKay, and Elizabeth Palm. Also present were Superintendent Dr. Daniel L. Oakley, principals Molly Allen, Jason Chaplin, William Lapp, Nathan Lorton, and Sean Poston, as well as a few community members.

The Board recognized outgoing Board members. Tom Barth was elected in November of 1997 and served 19.5 years; Tammi Coons was elected in April of 2005 and served 12 years; Greg Kroeschen was elected in April of 2009 and served 8 years; and Danielle Reichman was elected in April of 2009 and served 8 years. The Board thanked these members for their years of service. The Board then adjourned Sine Die.

For pictures of the new board members, click here.

The new Board was then seated. Dr. Oakley was nominated as President Pro Tempore until the Board could elect its president, and Mr. Chaplin was nominated as Secretary Pro Tempore for the meeting. The entire Board then took the oath of office.

Board officer elections were held. Joe Kirkpatrick was elected President, Tim McNamara Vice President, and Kimberly McKay as Secretary.

Dr. Oakley then led the Board through an orientation process. Although there was not enough time to discuss items in depth, the Board covered a large number of topics for which it has responsibility. Topical areas covered during the orientation included: the Board/Superintendent relationship; school finance; the instructional program; personnel; school/community relations; and important issues in the future.

The next regular Board meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, April 26 2017, at 6:30 pm at Fieldcrest High School band room, with closed session starting at 6:00 pm.